Week 14 Reflection – Candice

  1. How do you feel about the course? What parts of it do you particularly like? Dislike? Why?
    1. This course is extremely valuable to the IDT doctoral program; in fact, I feel that this should be the very first course that should be taken prior to all other program requirements.  Not only did it help me to locate resources that will be of great value during my research, it helped me narrow my focus, which is a very difficult task.  Particularly, I found the library resource and EndNote instruction very helpful.  The article reflections were valuable, but I did find it difficult to complete the first one without a detailed explain of the expected format.  Throughout online research for APA formatting guidelines, I feel that I found something that was helpful.  I can state that the second review article was much easier to complete.  With regard to a specific portion of the course that I disliked, I cannot think of anything specific.
  2. What did you learn most from taking this course?
    1. The annotated bibliography was probably the assignment where I learned the most information – well that, and the concept map.  Both of these assignments helped me to learn more about who I am in the field of IDT and where I need to focus my efforts.  For the annotated bibliography, I feel that I have not only how to create one but how to use one.
  3. Have you changed any ideas you used to have about the Ph.D journey,as well as about certain topics within the field of study?
    1. I came in the with idea that I wanted to research augmented reality and virtual learning environments, but now, I want to focus on how to scaffold instructional strategies within these learning modalities, specifically with self-directed learning.  It has become more clear to me that it is not sufficient to focus on such broad topic when there are specific aspects within the topic that can have a profound impact when researched and theorized.
  4. What was especially satisfying to you about taking this course?
    1. I feel that the most satisfying part of this course was the concept map.  Leaving the course, I have a new tool and a better direction about how to reach my dissertation focus.  It is also satisfying to realize that this is a living document that will evolve as I continue to engage in IDT courses.
  5. What would you like to spend more time with amongst all the subjects/topics we covered this semester?
    1. APA formatting.  Personally, I would have found more detailed instruction valuable with regard to APA formatting.  Although I know that this is something that I will hone as I progress through the program, I would have enjoyed a few innovative activities that would allow me to proof for APA errors.
  6. If you were to take this course again, would you do anything differently? What and why?
    1. I can’t say that I would change anything specific that I did during this course.  Perhaps starting the article reviews for the annotated bibliography earlier; this would have given more time for summary writing.

4 thoughts on “Week 14 Reflection – Candice”

  1. Your thoughts are well taken, Candice. I plan on asking the librarian to give a session on EndNote and perhaps APA in my next session. What innovative activities to hone APA skills can you think of? I am thinking of doing peer reviewing, or a gamified activity to see who can catch the most APA errors from all class papers….

    Like

    1. Thanks for your reply, Dr. Luo. I think that peer reviewing would be a great way to help hone this skill. Also, using an online resource, like KaHoot!, would be engaging. I use this a lot with my adult students, and they respond very well.

      Like

      1. Do you have something that you created on KaHoot that you can share with me? I have never heard/used of it but it looks fun!

        Like

  2. Totally agree, Candice, the concept map and annotated bibliography were wonderfully enlightening! It was so great to connect with everyone in this class and I hope we’ll share a class again in the future!

    Like

Leave a comment